Team

Coordination Team:

Prof. Dr. Ulrich Hirn

Part of the coordination team and expert in paper technology

Affiliation: TU Graz, Institute of Bioproducts and Paper Technology, Graz Austria

E-Mail: ulrich.hirn@tugraz.at

Expertise: Paper technology

Role in project: Administrative project management and development of paper based membranes.

Prof. Dr. Stefan Spirk

Part of the coordination team and expert in bioproduct development with focus on energy storage

Affiliation: Ecolyte GmbH, Graz, Austria

E-Mail: stefan.spirk@ecolyte.at

Expertise: Stef has been working on battery technology from biobased materials since 2014 at TU Graz

Role in project: Operative project management, technical guidance, WP6 leader, responsible for demonstrator.

Michaela Reininghaus

Part of the coordination team and research manager and financial project manager

Affiliation: TU Graz, Institute of Bioproducts and Paper Technology, Graz, Austria

E-Mail: reininghaus@tugraz.at

Expertise: Project management

Role in project: Michi is part of the coordination team and supports Stef and Ulrich in the management of the project.

Heidi Tomi

Part of the coordination team and project manager and researcher
Affiliation: Ecolyte GmbH, Graz, Austria

E-Mail: Heidi.tomi@ecolyte.at

Expertise: Project management, hardware installation

Role in project: Heidi supports the coordination team and is also involved in technical tasks in WP6.

Portfolio and innovation manager:

Dr. Wolfgang Zitz

Project portfolio manager, strategy developer and technology expert

Affiliation: Ecolyte GmbH, Graz, Austria

E-Mail: wolfgang.zitz@ecolyte.at

Expertise: Experience in market introduction, high level management

Role in project: Project portfolio manager, work package leader WP9, input in WP6 for full stack design.

DI Stefan Pachmajer

Innovation manager and expertise in renewable energy

Affiliation: Ecolyte GmbH, Graz, Austria

E-Mail: stefan.pachmajer@ecolyte.at

Expertise: Experience in renewable energy, both installation and energy trading

Role in project: Stefan is the innovation manager and supports the team with his expertise in WP6 and WP9 for installation of the full stack.

Prof. Dr. Harald Pichler

Affiliation: TU Graz, Institute of Molecular Biotechnology, Graz, Austria

E-Mail: harald.pichler@tugraz.at

Expertise: Biotechnology

Role in project: Work package leader WP2, biotechnology for vanillin and quinone production.

Prof. Dr. Robert Peharz

Expert in artificial intelligence

Affiliation: TU Graz, Institute of Theoretical Computer Science, Graz, Austria

E-Mail: robert.peharz@tugraz.at

Expertise: Artificial intelligence

Role in project: Work package leader WP3, AI guided development of novel vanillin based molecules for flow batteries.

Prof. Dr. Roman Kern

Expert in machine learning

Affiliation: TU Graz, Institute of Interactive Systems and data Science, Graz, Austria

E-Mail: rkern@tugraz.at

Expertise: Machine learning and AI

Role in project: WP3, development of machine learning

Giacomo de Gobbi

PhD candidate

Affiliation: TU Graz, Institute of Theoretical Computer Science, Graz, Austria

E-Mail: giacomo.degobbi@tugraz.at

Expertise: Artificial intelligence

Role in project: WP3, AI guided development of novel vanillin based molecules for flow batteries.

Janine Maier

Process development, chemistry

Affiliation: Ecolyte GmbH, Graz, Austria

E-Mail: janine.maier@ecolyte.at

Expertise: Synthetic chemistry

Role in project: Synthesis and characterization of molecules suggested by AI in WP3, scale up of synthesis (WP6), and providing samples for toxicity testing (WP7).

Reyhan Yagmur

Process development, chemistry

Affiliation:Ecolyte GmbH, Graz, Austria

E-Mail: reyhan.yagmur@ecolyte.at

Expertise: Chemistry and modelling

Role in project: DFT calculations and synthesis in WP3.

Prof. Dr. Markus Biesalski

Expert in polymer and paper technology

Affiliation: TU Darmstadt, Macromolecular Chemistry and Paper Chemistry, Darmstadt, Germany

E-Mail: biesalski@tu-darmstadt.de

Expertise: Tuning interfacial properties of paper-polymer composites

Role in project: WP4, design of paper-polymer composite membranes.

Apl. Prof. Dr. Torsten Gutmann

Solid state NMR expert on paper

Affiliation: TU Darmstadt, Physical Chemistry of Condensed Matter, Darmstadt, Germany

E-Mail: torsten.gutmann@tu-darmstadt.de

Expertise: Analysis of paper by solid state NMR spectroscopy

Role in project: Work package leader WP4, elucidation of transport mechanisms in paper based membranes.

Mark Valentin Höfler

Affiliation: TU Darmstadt, Physical Chemistry of Condensed Matter, Darmstadt, Germany

E-Mail: torsten.gutmann@tu-darmstadt.de

Expertise: Analysis of paper by solid state NMR spectroscopy

Role in project: WP4, elucidation of transport mechanisms in paper based membranes.

DI Lukas Pachernegg

Junior researcher and PhD student

Affiliation: Ecolyte GmbH, Graz, Austria

E-Mail: lukas.pachernegg@ecolyte.at

Expertise: Membrane technology

Role in project: Membrane testing in WP4 and WP6 as well as scale up of production.

Cemile Sözeri

Junior researcher

Affiliation: Ecolyte GmbH, Graz, Austria

E-Mail: cemile.soezeri@ecolyte.at

Expertise: Membrane technology

Role in project: Supports Lukas and the team in membrane testing in WP4 and WP6 as well as scale up of production.

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Kern

Polymer and surface chemistry

Affiliation: Montanuniversität Leoben,  Chair of Chemistry of Polymeric Materials, Leoben, Austria

E-Mail: wolfgang.kern@unileoben.ac.at

Expertise: Polymer and surface chemistry

Role in project: Work package leader WP5, design of high-performance carbon felts.

Dr. Christine Brandl

Polymer and surface chemistry

Affiliation: Montanuniversität Leoben,  Chair of Chemistry of Polymeric Materials, Leoben, Austria

E-Mail: christine.brandl@unileoben.ac.at

Expertise: Polymer and surface chemistry

Role in project: Christine is involved in WP5, the carbon felt modification and analysis.

Sayed Alem, MSc

Polymer and surface chemistry, PhD student

Affiliation: Montanuniversität Leoben,  Chair of Chemistry of Polymeric Materials, Leoben, Austria

E-Mail: sayedali.alem@mail.polimi.it

Expertise: Sayed is like Christine involved in the carbon felt modification and analysis.

Role in project: WP5, carbon felt modification and analysis.

DI Bernhard Marius

Process development electrodes

Affiliation: Ecolyte GmbH, Graz, Austria

E-Mail: bernhard.marius@ecolyte.at

Expertise: Electrode shaping and testing

Role in project: Testing and production of samples in WP5 and WP6.

DI Dominik Wickenhauser

Head battery testing

Affiliation: Ecolyte GmbH, Graz, Austria

E-Mail: dominik.wickenhauser@ecolyte.at

Expertise: Battery technology

Role in project: Battery testing in WP3, 4, 5 and WP6.

Dr. Michael Kriechbaum

Expert in innovation system analysis

Affiliation: TU Graz, Institute of Interactive Systems and Data Science, Graz, Austria

E-Mail: michael.kriechbaum@tugraz.at

Expertise: Data analysis and interpretation, innovation systems

Role in project: Workpackage leader WP7, tecnoeconomic assessment and institutional analysis.

Dr. Julia Wenger

Expert in LCA

Affiliation: TU Graz, Institute of Interactive Systems and Data Science, Graz, Austria

E-Mail: julia.wenger@tugraz.at

Expertise: Data analysis and interpretation, innovation systems

Role in project: Julia supports Michi in WP7 in the technoeconomic analysis.

Anna Semenko

Affiliation: TU Graz, Institute of Interactive Systems and Data Science, Graz, Austria

E-Mail:

Expertise: Data analysis and interpretation, innovation systems

Role in project:

Dr. Andoni Cruz

Expert in toxicity testing

Affiliation: BBD Biophenix, San Sebastian Spain

E-Mail: cruz@biobide.es

Expertise: Toxicity evaluation

Role in project: WP7, evaluation of toxicity data.

Dr. Arantza Muriana

Expert in toxicity testing

Affiliation: BBD Biophenix, San Sebastian Spain

E-Mail: muriana@biobide.es

Expertise: Toxicity evaluation

Role in project: WP7, evaluation of toxicity data.

Andrea Weiner

Process development, chemistry

Affiliation: BBD Biophenix, San Sebastian Spain

E-Mail: weiner@biobide.es

Expertise: Toxicity evaluation

Role in project: WP7, evaluation of toxicity data.

Dieter Wurm

Expert in biomass valorization

Affiliation: Ecolyte GmbH

E-Mail: dieter.wurm@ecolyte.at

Expertise: Market expert

Role in project: Supports the WP7 and WP9 team in assessing the cost aspects of the technology.

Georg Niess

Affiliation: TU Graz, Institute of Interactive Systems and Data Science

E-Mail: georg.niess@student.tugraz.at

Expertise: Machine learning and AI

Role in project: Involved in WP3.

Jonas Lins

Affiliation: TU Darmstadt, Physical Chemistry of Condensed Matter

E-Mail: jonas.lins@tu-darmstadt.de

Expertise: Paper analysis, Solid state NMR spectroscopy

Role in project: WP4 paper analysis using solid state NMR spectroscopy.

Tristan Wagener

Affiliation: TU Darmstadt, Macromolecular Chemistry and Paper Chemistry

E-Mail: tristan.wagener@tu-darmstadt.de

Expertise: Paper analysis

Role in project: WP4, paper modification and analysis.

Stefanie Schmied

Affiliation: TU Graz, Institute of Molecular Biotechnology

E-Mail: stefanie.schmid@student.tugraz.at

Role in project: WP2, yeast design and optimization.